Siciliandays, Feedback and Testimonials.

Siciliandays Feedback and Testimonials

 

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for a wonderful day.  We really enjoyed spending time with you - the shopping, cooking, marvelous lunch - and your special knowledge of Palermo. Today was our first day driving.  It was quite an experience! When you have a chance please send me the recipes we made. Thanks again. Marty

Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone Apr 2 alle 11:09 PM

Hello Patrizia!
We really enjoyed our two days with you in Palermo! We had such a great time talking with you and Alfredo.  It was definitely a highlight of our trip. Keep me informed about your cookbook!
XOXO Joni

Sent from my iPad On Mar 11, 2014, at 12:26 AM,

Cara Patrizia – scusa la mia risposta tarda .Ma sempre quando Berndhard e io  tornaniamo a casa dopo le  vacanze  troviamo  millioni doveri  chi fanno finti di non poter aspettare. Granzie tanto per la tua compagnia ,la cordialità  e la patienza che avevi con noi – c’era un esperienza straordinaria  fare conoscenza di Palermo in un modo si personale. Non avremmo mai  scoperto tante cose. E per finire , ciliegia sulla torta  (si dice cosi? Mi sembra aver ascolto qualch’espressione)   vostr’appartamento e il pranzo – deliciosissimo. Davvero – non avremmo mai espectato essere si viziati. Grazie tantissimo. Certamente scriverò un commento su tripadvisor e stiamo gjà  parlando  a  tutti i nostril amici ( e I compagni di mei corsi di italiano) que devono in ogni caso  avere quest’esperienza con te. Bernhard e io torneriamo  , certo e ,definitivamente  prima di suo ritiro, ne informiamoti  per prima cosa  Tanti auguri , sta bene e sana , con memorie  meravigliose , Christiane e Bernhard P.S. Se ti senta di  vacanze nel bacino di xxxx -  potrebbe per perfizionare  il tuo tedesco – non hesita , abbiamo abbastanza spazio da noi (benche meno sole,gente meno gentile e una cucina definitvamente peggiore)

To "'siciliandays.com'" Subject  grazie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Date 18/03/2014 17:48

“AMAZING!”

Patrizia and Alfredo were amazing hosts, they gave us one of the most memorable experiences! The food, wine, and especially the atmosphere with them and their cousins was absolutely fantastic. I had the best time! I would love to do this again and again! I can't say enough about how great our evening was. I expected an average cheese and wine tasting and Patrizia went above and beyond. THANK YOU SO SO MUCH!!!   taylor w

Visited March 2014

“Came for the wine, left with a family”

We came to Sicily wanting to discover what the local culture and cuisine was like. While there is much to see in Sicily in terms of sightseeing, far and away our favorite and most memorable experience was with Patrizia, Alfredo and her cousins. We were graciously welcomed into their home. We had only asked for the wine and cheese yet they blew us away with their hospitality, friendliness and extras. We enjoyed some incredible homemade Sicilian food (which we did not even expect to receive). While the tour only said it would be 2 hours, we did not want to leave after the three hours we were there because we were having some an incredible experience. If you want to have a memorable experience with a host that treats you as family and not as a tourist, I would 100% recommend Siciliandays as well as Occhioalboma (Alfredo's company). I cannot think of a single negative from this experience because it is exactly what I wanted out of and it was worth every penny. Will S 

Visited March 2014

“Scoprire Palermo e sentirsi in simpatica compagnia”

Bellissima giornata di sole in pieno febbraio in compagnia di una guida d'eccezione. Palermo si é rivelata, grazie a Patrizia, nelle sue molteplice sfaccettature. Il pranzo ricco e gustoso sorseggiando un buon nero d'Avola ha fatto il resto. Grazie per aver reso la mia breve vacanza indimenticabile e unica. Sperando di rivedere presto questa meravigliosa città e scoprirne ancora i suoi molteplici segreti, non posso che consigliare di cuore a chiunque questo tour della capitale siciliana. Un abbraccio, Daniela da Losanna. Daniela J

Visited February 2014

“More than expected!”
We were up for an interesting walking tour of Palermo, what we got far exceeded our expectations. Our guide was a wonderful fountain of knowledge, quite passionate about her city and the history, culture and food of Sicily. I will be honest and didn't realise that lunch was part of the tour, but the home cooked food was excellent and made us feel very welcome and looked after. The conversation, the information, the "behind the scenes" and the food made us feel so much a part of Palermo and Sicily. It clearly has gone into our long term memorable category. Please, please go on this tour, you won't be disappointed!

Reviewed on: 10-Jan-2014    Reviewed by: Kitson from London, United Kingdom

“An Unexpected Day Out”

Recensito il 11 gennaio 2014

We really enjoyed our day out in Palermo with Patrizia. We were met just outside the port and then enjoyed several hours of visiting Palermo on foot, which was clearly tailored to suit our interest. We covered off history, culture, politics, religion and lots of just general conversation and comradarie. I will admit that the I forgot the tour included lunch and Patrizia's authentic home cooking was truly wonderful. I really cannot recommend this tour enough. It simply exceeded every expectation we had.

Visitato a Gennaio 2014

“Come in famiglia”

Recensito il 7 gennaio 2014

Andare in giro per Palermo e Monreale con Patrizia e Alfredo è stata una esperienza a dir poco gratificante ! Professionalità cortesia e simpatia unitamente alla puntualità e alla disponibilità hanno contribuito a rendere perfetta la vacanza! Anche il pranzo delizioso curato allegro ,come in famiglia!! Al prossimo giro non vedo l'ora di saggiare la barca di Alfredo e le sue doti di skipper: la riserva dello zingaro e tanto altro ci attendono

Visitato a Gennaio 2014

Dear Marialuisa,

What a wonderful day we spent with you! The sights, sounds, and tastes of Palermo were so terrific! We have told everyone on board how much they missed, especially our wonderful lunch! Your city was definitely an adventure( with the protests), but seeing the beautiful Pallatine, the incredible church in the market, the smells and colors of the market itself..and enjoying your vibrant personality and cooking talents..it was a day we will remember for a long time!!  We hope you and your family enjoy a wonderful Holiday season, a very happy, healthy, and successful New Year..and tell your husband and kids they are vecky to have you! If you ever plan on visiting the US, please stop in Atlanta!

Thank you...sincerely, Judi and Richard

Judith P.

November 2013

Dear Patrizia and Alfredo, We had a fantastic day with you too. Thank you for sharing your city and hospitality with us. Your cookbook should be fantastic and we would like to know when you go to print or e-print. We will certainly write and post to Trip Advisor our sentiments about the incredible outing that we had. Again, thank you both for a great start to what is sure to be a fantastic vacation on your incredible island. Please feel free to forward my email to any potential guests. I am happy to give a glowing testimonial. Patrizia, you were going to make a suggestion of a restaurant for dinner. If you could send to us the name and address, we would be grateful.

Best regards, Marilyn and Jerry, Lisa and Matthew 

October 2013

“escursione su misura”

Recensito il 1 novembre 2013

Palermo è una città stupenda che ha superato di gran lunga le mie aspettative... Se poi sei insieme ad un ragazzino di 10 anni che riesce a condividere con te lo stesso entusiasmo e lo stesso stupore nei confronti di quanto si visita.... vuol dire che la guida è un genio!!! La guida in questione è Marialuisa simpatica, preparata, molto accorta e accogliente, con lei abbiamo trascorso un'intera giornata intensa ma altrettanto divertente tra le strade percorse, i monumenti visitati e tutte quelle cose buone che ci ha fatto assaggiare... E' una persona che ama la sua città e riesce a trasmettere questo suo amore ai suoi ospiti, molto solare ed amichevole...conserviamo un bellissimo ricordo di quella giornata e consigliamo a tutti una esperienza del genere.

Sere e Ale

Visitato a Settembre 2013

“Excellent and Informative”

We had an amazing time on our walking tour in Palermo. We only had 2 days to see the city and Patriza was an amazing guide. In our time with her she adapted the tour to our tastes; exploring markets, street food, churches, and learning about the wonderful mutli-layered history of Palermo. The food and wine back at the apartment were very nice as well, her capanota was the best i have ever had, my husband agreed. The tour exceeded our expectations we would really recomend it to anyone touring Palermo for the first time. Thank-you again Patriza :)     

Reviewed on: 30-Oct-2013    Reviewed by: Jamie from Buranby, Canada

“Palermo”

Recensito il 29 ottobre 2013

I am not one for saying very much on these type of blogs but let me say that this was an excellent tour. My wife and I are an elderly couple and Patrizia was an excellent caring hostess and guide. Not only did we see what was on the tour schedule but information and insight on the Sicilian way of life. The individual attention we received added to the enjoyment of the trip.I would recommend this tour to those wanting to experience something different in their lives.

Visitato a Settembre 2013

“Highlight of our trip to Palermo”

Recensito il 29 ottobre 2013

We were so happy to have spent the morning touring Palermo, it is an interesting city with lots to offer. We only had 2 days in Palermo and we thought this would be a great way to get a very good look and learn about the citys culture. We visted markets, churches, and learned tons about the colourful history. The walking tour was adapted to our personal tastes which was excellent. The 5 course meal and wine we had at the flat, prepared by Patriza, great! We had an excellent time walking the city, trying new foods and visiting with our wonderful guide :) We are just a couple of crazy Canadian backpackers but take my word for it, do not miss out on this walking tour!

Visitato a Ottobre 2013

“Wonderful tour of Palermo, Sicily!”

Recensito il 23 ottobre 2013

We were going to be staying on the Amalfi Coast but we also wanted to take a couple of days to explore Palermo, Sicily. We had never been to this part of Italy so we were excited to make it a reality. My idea was to create a situation where we could get picked up at the airport in Palermo at 8:00am, and given a tour of the highlights of Palermo and then dropped off at the hotel we were staying at. Since our stay in Palermo was going to be so short, we wanted to make the most out of it. In my research, I found www.Siciliandays.com we arranged the airport pick up and tour. We were greeted by Alfredo, bright and early, he was so friendly. He made us feel right at home. We spent the day touring Mondello, Monreale and Montpelligrino, it was GORGEOUS!! We also met up with Alfredo's wife, Patrizia who gave us historical in-depth information regarding the different sites. We also had a fantastic stop at their beautiful studio for fabulous home cooked lunch! We shared a lot of laughs, as a matter of fact, we now refer to them as the "sah-silly-ians" It was a terrific way to see Sicily, we also used their services to take us back to the airport the day we left, it was a great way to end our stay with a friendly face.

Visitato a Ottobre 2013

“Culture and food in Palermo”

Recensito il 20 ottobre 2013

During our walk through Palermo with Marialuisa we were not only introduced to some of the tourist highlights of the city but also to some of the interesting aspects which you cannot learn from reading guide books: ancient and recent history of Palermo and Sicily, daily life, gastronomy, linguistic differences between Sicilian and Italian, etc. After the walk, Marialuisa prepared an excellent lunch with typical Sicilian food. During our stay in Sicily we had caponata several times, but Marialuisa's was the top! Marialuisa speaks an excellent English, and she is open to all sorts of questions. Very recommendable!

Visitato a Ottobre 2013

“The highlight of our of stay in Palermo!”

Recensito il 17 ottobre 2013

What a wonderful way to experience Palermo. Mariluisa was a terrific tour guide, cordial hostess, and now a new friend. We spent the morning and into the afternoon walking, getting a good feel for the city, seeing some beautiful churches, colorful markets, learning Sicilian history, and (the best part) drinking and eating! This was really such an unforgettable and outstanding part of our Italian vacation - thank you very much for a lovely day!

Visitato a Ottobre 2013

“The only way to see Palermo, through the eyes of a local.”

Recensito il 13 ottobre 2013

Having arrived from Tuscany we found Palermo a little intimidating but all this was about to change. In the hands of Marialuisa we were introduced to a city full of life, colour and friendliness. She explained the history and architecture, showed us fabulous churches, took us through vibrant markets and even had us chatting with street food vendors. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better we were then invited to her apartment for home cooked Sicilian delights and fine wines. If you want to feel at home in Palermo then a tour with Marialuisa is a must. Thanks for this amazing day, it was definitely a highlight of our trip. Best wishes Debbie and James.

Visitato a Settembre 2013

“Great Introduction to the City”

Recensito il 5 ottobre 2013

My husband and I just got back from our first trip to Italy. We went on a walking tour of Palermo with Marialuisa on our first morning in the city. We are so glad we did. She made us feel welcome and comfortable in the city. She introduced us to the history and prepared a wonderful meal of "typical" Sicilian dishes. We enjoyed every minute of it and felt like we had a new friend by the end of the day. We absolutely loved our time in Palermo, with this tour as the highlight. 

Heather and Mark

“I wish I could go back!”

Recensito il 4 ottobre 2013

This was the BEST experience of our cruise! Meeting Patrizia and Alfredo, and walking through Palermo with them was amazing! It was so special to go with them and see the city through their eyes. Amazing city, amazing churches, amazing markets. The time with Patrizia and Alfredo, at their home, where they cooked us a marvelous five course meal, with wine, was so very, very special. When we left them at the port, we were in tears. I was very sad the next few days to have had to say good-bye. They were simply the best, and YOU will not be disappointed. I so hope that one day I can return to see them again. We are sisters! Absolutely a five-plus star experience!

Visitato a Settembre 2013

“Metà giornata tra Palermo Monreale e Mondello”

Recensito il 1 ottobre 2013

Grazie a Marialuisa ho visitato in cinque ore (era il mio tempo a disposizione) un concentrato di Palermo Monreale e Mondello, che da solo non ci sarei riuscito. Ricordo la sua simpatia, gentilezza, professionalità e disponibilità, corsa a piedi compresa per non farmi perdere l'autobus x Siracusa!

Ciao Francesco da Napoli

“VISITANDO PALERMA CON PATRIZIA”

Recensito il 30 settembre 2013

Grazie a Patrizia abbiamo visitato Palermo a piedi (con l'auto è impossibile a causa del traffico caotico): da Piazza Politeama al mercato della Vucciria, passando dai monumenti più importanti e belli di Palermo. Abbiamo finito in gran bellezza nel suo piccolo appartamento ben arredato vicino alla Vucciria parlando delle nostre cose e condividendo i nostri pensieri: accomapagnato il tutto dalle panelle fritte, la caponata, la pasta al forno, i cantuccini, le cassatelle vino nero d'Avola, Passito e caffè. Ce ne siamo andati alle 17,00 augurando a Patrizia tante belle cose e con l'altra coppia di Ticino abbiamo passeggiato ancora per la città finendo soddisatti la giornata. Lucia e Moreno di Pomarance (PI)

Visitato a Settembre 2013

“Palermo, cultura e gastronomia”

Recensito il 29 settembre 2013 Abbiamo prenotato da casa il tour senza sapere cosa ci capitava. Non potevamo capitare meglio!!, Patrizia "la guida" ci ha accolti come amici ed essendo un gruppetto piccolo ( 2 coppie) abbiamo trascorso una giornata intensa ma indimenticabile. La ciliegina sulla torta é stato il pranzo tipico accompagnato da un eccellente nero d'Avola degustato nell' appartamento di Patrizia . Che dire ancora ....complimenti e GRAZIE DI CUORE

Visitato a Settembre 2013

“Great way to see Palermo”

Recensito il 18 settembre 2013

Our travel agent, Giovanni Santagati, booked this tour for us. We almost didn't go but am so glad we did. Our guide, Marialuisa, was absolutely fantastic. The tour was great - very informative with beautiful sights. We even went in the Municipal Building for a tour of the Mayor's office. Beautiful. After the tour, Marialuisa cooked lunch for us with several traditional Sicilian dishes. It was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely recommend this tour and when Marialuisa's cookbook comes out I will definitely be buying a copy!

Visitato a Settembre 2013

 “Необычная экскурсия”

Recensito il 12 settembre 2013

  Обратились в это агенство по отзывам сайта. И не разочаровались! С русскими туристами у них пока опыт не большой, но на качестве это не сказалось) Нас провели по интересным местам, где групповые экскурсии не встречались. Показали места с потрясающими видами на город) Я даже посидела в кресле мэра города за его столом!)) А ужин после экскурсии- это просто супер! за это отдельное спасибо! Настоящая сицилийская кухня! И благодаря пояснениям, мы хоть поняли что именно мы едим)) Так как на самом деле название блюда иногда ничего не объясняет)) Нам рассказали о сицилийской кухне и вине, и всё это в непринуждённой и дружеской обстановке))) Спасибо Патриции и Катерине!;))

Visitato a Settembre 2013

“Wonderful day with a wonderful guide/cook”
Recensito il 9 settembre 2013
 
I had a marvelous time. Patrizia is a great cook and guide. My girlfriend and I had a blast. We went to a marked to shop some food of our choice, while getting guiding on the way there.

Afterwards we made the food in real Sicilian fashion and hade a nice chat with Patrizia about everything and nothing. Of course there was great wine and the food was amazing. I've never been so full. By the way: the food is included in the price.

All together a marvelous experience. Whats's best: everything got costum made for our fitting. We didn't want fish or eggplant/aubergine, so we avoided that.

I'll recomend thos experience to anyone visiting Sicily and expecially Palermo.

Enjoy!

Visitato a Luglio 2013

 

“Magica Sicilia”
Recensito il 23 agosto 2013
Patrizia e Alfredo due persone speciali.....grazie di tutto,siete riusciti a trasmettere la passione per la vostra terra!!!! Consigliamo a tutti un giro in barca a vela con Alfredo nella riserva dello Zingaro e la visita di Palermo in compagnia della moglie Patrizia.Credetemi non ho parole per descrivere la loro ospitalità...... Grazie ancora Manuela

“Giornata da ricordare”
Recensito il 22 agosto 2013
Dopo alcuni giorni trascorsi in barca nel bellissimo mare delle Sicilia, abbiamo voluto vedere anche un po' di terra e siamo andati a Palermo. Avendo a disposizione una giornata soltanto, abbiamo scelto un hotel centrale e prenotato alla cieca un tour con siciliandays....nessun'altra scelta sarebbe stata migliore!!! Maria Luisa ci ha "ritirato" in hotel e ci ha accompagnato per la città chiacchierando ed offrendoci un'immagine della città che da soli non avremmo potuto avere!!! La sua simpatia e le sue doti di meravigliosa padrona di casa ci faranno ricordare lei e Palermo sempre con un sorriso!! Grazie!! Amanda Marcello e Nicola

 

Visitato a Agosto 2013

 

“Un splendida vacanza!!”
Recensito il 22 luglio 2013
Ho trascorso qualche giorno a Palermo insieme a mio marito e una coppia di amici. Non conoscendo nulla della città ci siamo affidati a Siciliandays Tours. E’ stata una vacanza veramente piacevole con la compagnia di Patrizia, una persona fantastica e competente. Ti fa sentire “a casa”, come se la conoscessi da sempre.
Abbiamo camminato e visitato piazze e monumenti e verso sera siamo stati accolti in una casa dove Patrizia si è dimostrata un'ottima cuoca. Una cena perfetta con piatti tipici siciliani.
Veramente complimenti!!!
Nadia da Bologna

 

Visitato a Luglio 2013

 

“grazie Patrizia!!!”
Recensito il 22 luglio 2013
Grazie Patrizia! abbiamo passato due giorni perfetti: il primo in barca a vela con Alfredo a San Vito Lo Capo che ci ha fatto ammirare una costa meravigliosa che non conoscevamo e poi il giorno dopo in giro per Palermo con te, alla Kalsa, un bellissimo quartiere ricco di meraviglie (del resto Palermo è piena di meraviglie, forse un po' troppo trascurate dai palermitani). Poi la tua cucina Patrizia! sublime, in quel fantastico appartamentino al centro della Vucciria!!
Ma una caratteristica ancora più bella di queste giornate è il fatto che ci è sembrato di averle passate con due amici che conoscevamo da 20 anni, simpatici, affiatati e pronti a capirci e magari a cambiare il programma se il tal giro l'avevamo già fatto.
assolutamente un 10 e lode!! Un carissimo saluto ed un arrivederci a presto
Monica Luigi, Nadia e Paolo

Visitato a Luglio 2013


“Fabolous food and chef. This is a great way to get to know Sicily”
Do as we did: do this early in the time you are on the island. It's a great way to get to know Sicily better. The chef and guide (one person) we had was wonderful and adjusted everything to our needs.

This was a gift from me to my girlfriend. I recommend you do the same if you're thinking about treating you loved one to a great date.

Reviewed on: 4-Aug-2013    Reviewed by: Geir Ove from Oslo, Norway

“JOVANOTTI .. MA MOLTO DI PIU'...”
Recensito il 15 luglio 2013
Con l'occasione della tappa Palermitana del tour di Jovanotti, decido di passare 2 giorni a Palermo con mio figlio di 15 anni. Il tempo non è molto e quindi prenoto il walking tour con Sicilian Days. E' stata la scelta vincente! Siamo stati presi per mano da Patrizia dal nostro arrivo all'aereoporto fino alla nostra partenza, con una cordialità e un senso di amicizia non comuni. Il tour è interessantissimo, ben congeniato, Palermo assolutamente affascinante da percorrere a piedi, con la premurosa, sapiente e gioviale assistenza di Patrizia. Il tempo scorre piacevolmente tra chiacchiere, scorci mozzafiato, sapori e odori. Piacevolissima la sosta per pranzo, (accompagnato da un ottimo vino bianco siciliano ghiacciato - era un Grillo? - ), con gustosissimi manicaretti preparati dalla nostra cuoca/guida/amica. Vi consiglio di farvi accompagnare al mercato delle pulci!! Fantastica Palermo, Fantastica Patrizia, posso dire di sentirmi come se avessi lasciato un'amica che non vedo l'ora di rincontrare presto! Michela

 

Visitato a Luglio 2013

 

“Mama Mia!”
Recensito il 8 luglio 2013

What a wonderful experience! From the moment Patrizia met us I knew this would be one of those events I would remember forever. Our morning started with a mouth-watering visit to the market where we picked out everything we needed for a wonderful meal. The fruits, vegetables, and fish were so incredibly fresh and enticing it was almost impossible to choose. Heading back to Patrizia's apartment we saw lots of Palermo's historical architecture. But the best was the incredible meal we put together, complemented by wonderful wine. Just amazing. No matter if you are a great cook or a novice, you will enjoy this memorable experience.

Gratzie, Patrizia!

Visitato a Giugno 2013


“The class and instructor exceeded our expectations.”
Patricia, was on time, warm and friendly, fluent in English and very knowledgeable.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the day and recommend the class to others who
Appreciate good food and wine and who want to learn more about Sicily and its people. 

Reviewed on: 25-Jun-2013    Reviewed by: Charles from Gibsonia, United States

 “A must in Palermo!”
Recensito il 21 giugno 2013


First of all my boyfriend and I would like to say grazie millie to Patrizia for showing us the true Palermo and giving us a experience which we'll never forget! We were in Palermo for 4 nights in May and we're so glad that we did this tour on the second day of our stay. We met Patrizia in Piazza Politeama and unlike other tours she didn't just show us the church's and cathedrals, we took an interesting walk through the popular market where we learnt about Sicilian food and got to see how the locals live. After the tour she prepared the most AMAZING Sicilian lunch, every course was so tasty and she showed us the recipes. We drank wine and shared great conversation, by the end we felt like we had spent the day with a good friend and had to take a nap because we ate so much!

 

Thanks again Patrizia!!
From Jessica and Mickel

 

Visitato a Maggio 2013

 

 “Visitare Palermo con un'amica”
Recensito il 17 giugno 2013
Io è la mia amica Chicca in vacanza in Sicilia, avevamo il desiderio di visitare Palermo. Abbiamo trovato questo sito e incuriosite abbiamo telefonato per avere informazioni. È stata veramente un'esperienza favolosa. Abbiamo visitato le catacombe e Palermo accompagnate da un'amica, , Patrizia, non solo professionalmente preparatissima ma cordiale e simpatica con la quale abbiamo instaurato da subito un bellissimo rapporto. Il pranzo poi che ci ha preparato, e consumato in una casa bellissima, e' stato veramente fantastico. Lo consiglio alle famiglie e a quelle persone che vogliono trascorrere una bella giornata in una città' favolosa in maniera diversa e divertente. Mara

 

Visitato a Giugno 2013

 

“Wonderful way to see Palermo!”
Recensito il 11 maggio 2013
 
We spent just one day with Patrizia when our cruise ship was in Palermo, and it was an amazing day! She met us just outside the port and we spent the next several hours strolling through Palermo, learning some of its history and architecture, before enjoying a lovely meal prepared by Patrizia in her apartment.

 

Being a private tour, there was no set agenda, so we took our time and even stopped to enjoy some genuine cannoli from Mazzara (absolutely delicious), before proceeding to view theatres, squares, markets and Churches. Two Churches were highlights of our walking tour, the Monumentale Chiesa Dell'Immacolata Concezione, and the Capella Palatina. If you've seen Monreale, the Capella Palatina is similar, but much smaller, and absolutely beautiful! Both these Churches are worth a visit, and Patrizia was very generous in sharing her knowledge about them both. When we were in the Market, she even helped us to purchase our own spices so that we can try to duplicate some of her Sicilian recipes.

 

After our walking tour, Patrizia took us back to her apartment where she made us a wonderful lunch of typical Sicilian dishes, all washed down with some very nice wines. She is an excellent cook, and made us feel very welcome in her home.

 

We felt that we came away from our walking tour with a better knowledge and understanding of Palermo, but even more important than that, we felt that we had made a real friend. When Patrizia drove us back to our ship, it was very hard to say goodbye. We enjoyed our day so much that we wanted it to last much longer.

 

I thoroughly recommend SicilianDays Tours. If you have the chance, please take a tour with Patrizia and get to know her Palermo. You're guaranteed to enjoy it, and I'm sure you'll come away with wonderful memories and a new friend!
   
Visitato a Aprile 2013

 

“Our favorite memory from Sicily”
Recensito il 2 maggio 2013
 
We arrived in Palermo as part of our honeymoon after spending 4 days in Florence. Unlike the extrememly easy to navigate Florence, Sicily has not yet embraced fully the idea of tourism (many people will tell you and it is true, that there are not many Sicilians who speak English). I found the siciliandays website while browsing the internet in our hotel room and we are SO fortunate we did. This is a wonderful company run by wonderful people. Patrizia has been able to somehow create an experience that combines both the information and sightseeing of a walking tour with the feeling of personalization you get in a bed and breakfast.
Patrizia met us in front of our hotel in the morning and walked us through the streets of Palermo, pointing out historical landmarks, interesting buildings or things that highlighted Sicilian culture/history. She was able to provide both historical information and personal perspective which was very interesting. She tooks us through the beautiful markets (both fruits/vegetables/fish and antique) and how wonderful to be able to converse with the sellers and even purchase things instead of walking around wide eyed and silent!! The amount of information and history she knows about the city is impressive and it's clear she is patriotic and proud to be Sicilian. Of course my favorite part, and it will be yours too, is after the walking tour she takes you back to an apartment near the markers where she prepares a homecooked traditional Sicilian lunch, wine included. This is the part where you will talk and laugh and really form a memorable friendship and experience. I can't imagine ANYONE who has left that apartment without telling Patrizia to please call if she is coming to the US for a visit. (FYI you will need a nap after the lunch, as you will leave stuffed to the brim with delicious food and wine!)

 

This was out favorite memory from Sicily- it's affordable and well worth it. I would highly recommend you make this a priorty in your travel.

 

P.S. As a word of advice, I would book early- we booked last minute, as it was a unplanned find and because of the level of personalization, I don't think she does more than one tour a day. We got so lucky!! Thank you Patrizia!!

 

Danielle & Ryan O'Halloran

 

Visitato a Aprile 2013

 

 “Palermo e una splendida giornata di sole”
Recensito il 29 aprile 2013
Durante il ns. tour della Sicilia non poteva mancare Palermo e dopo aver letto alcune recensioni abbiamo deciso di optare per un walking tour combinato con pranzo e visita alle catacombe dei cappuccini e Monreale. è stata una piacevolissima sorpresa! Accolti da Patrizia, abbiamo girato in lungo e in largo, finendo la mattinata in un carinissimo appartamento nel cuore del centro storico per il pranzo preparato da Patrizia stessa. E così mangiando, chiacchierando e sorseggiando un bel vino bianco fresco - ci siamo scolati in 3 quasi 2 bottiglie.... - abbiamo "cazzeggiato" per quasi due ore e abbiamo poi dovuto fare le corse per arrivare in tempo a Monreale.... Beh, più che altro - considerato il traffico caotico di Palermo - abbiamo dovuto fare una bella coda per arrivarci!! Che altro dire? A Patrizia ancora grazie per la competenza, gentilezza e bravura: consigliamo vivamente questo tour "alternativo"!

 

Visitato a Aprile 2013

 

“Relaxed tour of Palermo”
Recensito il 29 aprile 2013

We would like to thank Patrizia for a wonderful tour in Palermo.
As a party of 4 it was nice to have a personal tour. We walked
the old town, Visited ancient churches and the fab food and "antique" markets.
Then we had a lovely siclilian lunch at her apartment with wine. A great day enjoyed by all.
Mary Minogue

 

Visitato a Aprile 2013

 

“COMPETENZA, PROFESSIONALITA' E ...... TANTA SIMPATIA”
Recensito il 8 aprile 2013
Dopo aver prenotato telefonicamente, il 29 Marzo 2013, Io, mia moglie e la bambina abbiamo fatto il "Walking Tour - Palermo 1" con pranzo e ... avuto il piacere di trascorrere una bellissima mattinata in compagnia di Patrizia, la simpatica e cordiale guida. Si cammina tanto ma con calma e si ha il tempo di vedere e soprattutto "VIVERE" Palermo.
Il "Walking Tour - Palermo 1" comprende una visita nelle più caratteristiche vie e non solo ... Chiese, piazze, mercati, il tutto sapientemente accompagnato dalla professionalità e dalla simpatia di Patrizia che si è rivelata oltre una brava guida anche una brava cuoca!
Al ritorno dalla camminata infatti, siamo stati ospitati in un accogliente appartamento per pranzare (e riposarci!) assaggiando piatti tipici del palermitano tra cui "panelle" , "sfincione", "caponata", "crocchette", "anelletti al forno" ... insomma dall'antipasto al dolce, tutto squisito! Complimenti alla cuoca! :) Davvero una bellissima mattinata!

 

Visitato a Marzo 2013

 

 “Bello, bello, bello!”
Recensito il 3 aprile 2013
Io e la mia famiglia abbiamo trascorso la domenica di Pasqua a Palermo. Non so se siamo stati particolarmente fortunati quel giorno oppure è sempre così da queste parti: la città è bellissima, piena di luce, quel giorno con un sole quasi estivo, con luoghi affascinanti e diversissimi dai nostri, accompagnati da Marialuisa, una guida bravissima che ci ha condotto in maniera magistrale e con grande empatia tra i vicoli, le chiese ed i mercati. Avevamo lasciato una Verona uggiosa e siamo stati catapultati dopo solo 1 ora e mezza in un altro mondo climatico e storico al ritmo un po’ arabo degli strilli dentro il capo o per strada.
La nostra guida con garbo e professionalità ci ha dato tantissime informazioni, anche un po’ insolite, relative agli usi e costumi radicati tra i palermitani e siciliani, colorando anche di curiosità le note che ci forniva sapientemente sui siti storici. Al capo non potevamo poi non assaggiare il polpo, o come si dice qui il polipo in piazza, e il pupo con l’ uovo, un dolce casalingo fatto in panetteria solo per il periodo di Pasqua. Grazie a Marialuisa e a Siciliandays la nostra Pasqua è stata una bellissima festa!

 

Visitato a Aprile 2013

 

“Coppia friulana a Palermo - ottima esperienza!”
Recensito il 24 marzo 2013
Avevamo prenotato una guida via internet per un Walking Tour Palermo 1 con pranzo: abbiamo incontrato una simpatica amica, che ci ha accompagnato alla scoperta della città con calma e semplicità. Fin da subito la nostra guida Patrizia si è dimostrata cordiale, simpatica, accogliente e disponibile. Abbiamo camminato tanto, visitato chiese, piazze e mercati con le sue esaurienti e complete spiegazioni. Infine ci ha accolti a casa sua per un "assaggio" di piatti tipici palermitani: fra passeggiata, ottimo cibo e vino le ore sono passate troppo in fretta!
Davvero una bella giornata di arte-storia-bellezza e chiacchiere fra amici. Brava Patrizia !
Loretta e Luigi augurano a Siciliandays tanta fortuna e successo, veramente meritato!

 

Visitato a Marzo 2013

 

“3 sorelle a palermo: non potevamo fare scelta migliore!!!!!”
Recensito il 22 marzo 2013
Con siciliandays abbiamo prenotato walking tours Palermo 1 con pranzo.Tutto è andato per il meglio,
Patrizia ,la ns. guida, si è rivelata una persona estremamente cordiale e simpatica, oltre che preparata e competente. Ottimo il pranzo che ci ha preparato e servito in un accogliente appartamento in centro città,ci siamo trovate talmente bene che abbiamo concordato un itinerario (su misura per noi) anche per tutto il giorno seguente.Complimenti a Patrizia per la passione che mette nel suo lavoro, con lei abbiamo parlato di tutto proprio come tra amiche!Ti auguriamo tanta fortuna e felicità!!!
Laura Luigia e Francesca

 

Visitato a Marzo 2013

 

“Walking and Cooking Tour of Palermo”
Recensito il 21 gennaio 2013
This tour was a highlight for my wife and I during our two months of traveling. Patrizia met us in the morning and we proceeded to do a walking tour around Palermo seeing many of the churches, monuments, and buildings that the city has to offer. During the walk, she was very good about explaining the history about each area, about each building, and the reason why each site was important to Palermo, Sicily, and Italy. Since it was just my wife and I, we took our time through the markets and enjoyed gazing at the ceilings of the beautiful churches. We finished our walking tour and went to the apartment she and her husband has for the tour. It is simple and wonderfully decorated and it is here that she prepared a most enjoyable traditional meal. By the end we were so full, but it was so good! She has a few cookbooks in her house and although she cooked from her own style, she opened the cookbooks to show us similar recipes so we could follow along. You can tell she enjoys showing visitors her country and is very proud of its history and culture – also, her English is excellent and has no issues communicating. We have been on some horrible tours and some great ones…this one is a great one and we highly recommend.

 

Visitato a Gennaio 2013

 

 “A wonderful tour full of history, food, stories and laughter”
Recensito il 7 novembre 2012
We had a wonderful time with Patrizio on our tour. Excellent knowledge of Sicilian history and a real good cook! I'd encourage you to participate in the lunch at her home as we ate and drank very well, sharing lots of good stories and laughs. It's too bad we didn't meet earlier in our trip as another dinner would have been in the cards.
We talk about you often Patrizio and miss your big smile and humor.
I will trade you my recipe for fried zucchini flowers for your caponata?

Visitato a Ottobre 2012

“Ottimo wine tasting in un contesto esclusivo”
Recensito il 28 ottobre 2012
Nel nostro breve viaggio a Palermo io con mio marito ed i nostri due amici, ci siamo affidati a Siciliandays. La scelta è stata veramente azzeccata, abbiamo visitato molti siti e chiese del centro storico con tranquillità, in compagnia di un accompagnatore esperto e competente. Per il pranzo avevamo scelto la degustazione di vini siciliani. Dopo il tour, siamo andati in un piccolo ma bell’ appartamento in una palazzina del centro storico, ristrutturata con gusto, ed abbiamo degustato diversi vini siciliani puri con varie prelibatezze tipiche della cucina locale. Tutto molto buono in un’ atmosfera molto accogliente. Per non parlare poi del dolce finale, una vera meraviglia!
Lo rifarei subito e lo consiglio

 

Visitato a Settembre 2012

 

“Lo rifaremo!”
Recensito il 27 ottobre 2012

Io e le mie amiche, nel nostro soggiorno a Palermo ci siamo rivolti a siciliandays per i walking tours ed un wine tasting di vini siciliani. Siamo stati piacevolmente colpiti dalla competenza e professionalità, oltre che dal tipo di servizi offerto, che comprende oltre all’ organizzazione di walking tours cittadini, anche di servizi transfer s e visite guidate fuori Palermo. Oltre al walking tours volevamo fare qualcosa di diverso, e, amanti del buon vino, ma con poco tempo a disposizione per visitare le cantine fuori Palermo, su consiglio di siciliandays, abbiamo prenotato il sicilian cheese and wine tasting, un tuffo nei vini e formaggi siciliani. All’ inizio pensavamo che sarebbe stata la solita degustazione di vini, invece ci siamo ricredute completamente, è stato molto di più, un viaggio nella storia e nel cuore di questa terra affascinante. Siamo stati accolti con calore in una casa a due passi dalla Vucciria, dentro un ex convento, oggi ristrutturato, ed abbiamo assaggiato con calma ed in un’ atmosfera molto bella 6 vini siciliani in purezza accoppiati a 6 formaggi tipici siciliani. Con me e le mie amiche c’erano altre persone ed è stato interessante condividere l’ esperienza in questo accogliente e bell’ appartamento. La nostra guida Marialuisa ci ha spiegato e fatto notare le differenze tra i vini bevuti e come accompagnarli meglio con i formaggi, abbiamo mangiato un pane buonissimo di castelvetrano e poi dolci fritti con la ricotta all’ interno, una squisitezza difficile da dimenticare! È stata un’esperienza bellissima e buonissima che rifaremo molto volentieri.
Visitato a Settembre 2012

 

“Wonderful day with a more than wonderful guide”
Recensito il 21 ottobre 2012

This is an absolutely great tour!! From touring this beautiful city to meeting one of the nicest people/guides there are, it was a fantastic experience! I cannot stress enough how much we learned about the city in this walking tour. Patrizia is so knowledgable and caters the tour to your interests. Her English is impeccable and she was so easy to talk to. We got a really great inside look at the city with her help. Along with the tour, we got a 5 course home cooked meal that was far better than the majority of the restaurants located within Palermo. We are so happy we chose this as our tour and so glad to have met Patrizia! I HIGHLY recommend this experience!
Visitato a Ottobre 2012


“Amazing”
Patrizia was the most amazing guide and the homemade meal was delightful! Could not have asked for a nicer or better tour guide! I will highly recommend her to others

Reviewed on: 15-Oct-2012    Reviewed by: Cynthia from Beckley, United States

“Wonderful day with Patrizia”
Recensito il 17 settembre 2012

Patrizia is a wonderful tour guide - very knowledgeable friendly, punctual, and engaging. The highlight of the day was the lunch she hosted in a beautiful private house.
I would highly recommend Patrizia.

Visitato a Settembre 2012

 

“The best way to explore Palermo”
Recensito il 16 settembre 2012

Palermo was a one day cruise stop for our group of 12 friends from the United States. Patrizia's English is excellent and she gave us a wonderful peek into her city that most tourists will not experience. We walked through two busy markets full of fish, produce and spices. We asked lots of questions about foods we had never seen (like 4-foot long zucchini). We also learned in a fun conversational way as we walked, about the city's history, arts and principal cathedrals. Understanding the history of the city helped us learn to love it though her eyes. Imagine our surprise when our tour ended in a private residence in the historic district. We were treated to a multi-course meal (which included local wine and a heavenly dessert) provided by our guide, her husband Alfredo and their college bound daughter. There was much kitchen laughter and cultural exchange as the final touches were put on our wonderful meal. My friends and I were in Europe for two weeks and this day was definitely the most memorable because of our time with this lovely family in their home. You will not regret your decision to take a SicilianDays Tour. Thanks so much Patrizia and Alfredo!

Visitato a Settembre 2012 

 

“PALERMO CON LA FAMIGLIA FRA AMICI”
Recensito il 28 agosto 2012

 

Nonostante il caldo devastante di questo Agosto è stato cmq piacevole nonchè molto interessante visitare Palermo seguendo la esile ombra di Patrizia. Propone visite assolutamente su misura del piccolo gruppo che accompagna che culminano con deliziosi pranzetti nella nuova casa "Rosa bianca" che è anche possibile affittare per le vacanze. Patrizia è una persona vitale capace anche di promuovere amicizie all'interno dei gruppi che accompagna così visiti la splendida città, acchiappi consigli a destra e a manca, ti fai nuovi amici, gusti un'ottima cucina e impari pure qualche parola di palermitano. Io mi sono erudita con "ammuttunate" e "camurria" !!! :-))))) Spero che Patrizia continui così, semplicemente.
Serena, Massimo, Diego e Giada da Imola
Visitato a Agosto 2012

 

 “Splendida passeggiata a Palermo”
Recensito il 16 luglio 2012

Il nostro commento non fa che confermare quanto di positivo si legge sul tipo di visita intelligente che ha coniato Patrizia. Il suo entusiasmo e la sua volglia di far conoscere Palermo, consentono anche in poche ore di apprezzare e capire una città complessa, affascinate e molto coinvolgente. L'accoglienza riservata, è stata assolutamente speciale, dai racconti alla cucina.
Ancora complimenti per averci fatto sentire a casa nostra con un amica di sempre.

 

Roberto, Oriana, Cristina , Vladimiro e le tre bimbe.
Visitato a Luglio 2012

 

 “In giro per Palermo guidati da un'amica”
Recensito il 9 luglio 2012

Posso solo confermare tutto quanto di positivo è già stato detto su questi tour, che consiglio assolutamente. Ho avuto il piacere di organizzare un tour per 6 persone e Patrizia è stata una guida esemplare, nonchè una padrona di casa ospitale ed accogliente, da vera siciliana. Abbiamo visto una Palermo non normalmente toccata dai tradizionali giri turistici e l'avere una guida entusiasta e amante di una regione così speciale ha reso il nostro giro veramente unico.
Grazie Patrizia!
Visitato a Luglio 2012

 

 “Bellissima Palermo, meglio a piedi e con una buona guida”
Recensito il 8 maggio 2012

 

Volendo effettuare una visita della vera ed autentica Palermo abbiamo chiesto un consiglio al portiere del nostro albergo che ci ha ottimamente consigliato di contattare una azienda che si occupa di tour, la Siciliandays.
Al telefono ci hanno risposto che era eventualmente disponibile per l’ indomani un accompagnatore ma nessuna guida.
Abbiamo concordato il costo e l’appuntamento a Piazza Politeama.
Con Alfredo abbiamo visitato l’ esterno del Teatro Massimo il colorito mercato del Capo, una splendida chiesa e la piazzetta dei Beati Paoli, poi attraverso altre stradine e vicoletti, sereni e tranquilli grazie al nostro “bodyguard” siamo arrivati alla Cattedrale.
Breve sosta con ottimo gelato ed abbiamo proseguito davanti i “Quattro Canti” e poi lo storico mercato della Vucciria e fame, fame, fame eccoci a Piazza San Francesco alla focacceria per un meritato pane e panelle, sfincione e per i meno schifittinosi il “panino con la meusa”
Alfredo è stata un’ottima guida anzi un eccellente e professionale accompagnatore, consiglio di visitare Palermo con una guida locale, bene Siciliandays.
Visitato a Aprile 2012

 

“Organizzazione e professionalita' Milanese a Palermo”
Recensito il 7 maggio 2012 tramite dispositivo mobile

Conosciamo e frequentiamo la Sicilia da anni ma non avevamo ancora visitato Palermo.Decidiamo di partire per una domenica alla scoperta della città e cerchiamo via internet una guida per una visita a piedi del centro storico.Al telefono ci risponde Patrizia che gestisce Siciliandays Tours e ci comunica che purtroppo per quella data non sono previste visite guidate della città (anche in considerazione del fatto che stavamo chiamando senza preavviso il sabato pomeriggio per la domenica successiva).
Patrizia non si perde d'animo, mi chiede un paio d'ore per tentare di organizzare il tour e mi promette di richiamarmi.
In serata ricevo la mail di conferma per la visita guidata per la mattina successiva e la incontriamo puntuale domenica mattina per la partenza del tour.
Con Patrizia abbiamo visitato la citta come se ad accompagnarci non fosse una guida sconosciuta bensì una vecchia amica.Forse sarà per il carattere gioviale e aperto che contraddistingue il popolo Siciliano,o forse sara' per la disponibilità e la professionalita' che abbiamo riscontrato in Patrizia che la nostra prima visita di Palermo ci ha soddisfatto pienamente .
Ottimo lavoro!
Alessandra e Francesco Milano

“A Palermo bellissimo tour a piedi e…. impriulati e scorzonera!”
Recensito il 6 maggio 2012

Con Siciliandays abbiamo prenotato il tour ‘’Visitare Palermo 1’’. Il bel walking tour, iniziato a piazza Politeama, ha toccato i punti più importanti del centro storico, dal grande Teatro Massimo, attraverso chiese bellissime e siti interessanti fino alla Cattedrale ed al Palazzo dei Normanni. Dato il caotico traffico per le strade di Palermo, la scelta del tour a piedi è stata azzeccatissima, molto piacevole e senza stress. Ci ha accompagnato una guida locale garbata e professionale, che ben conosceva gli ‘’usi ed i costumi’’ dei quartieri e vicoli attraversati, e ci siamo sentiti quasi ‘’palermitani’’. L’ ultima tappa del Tour a piedi è stata al mercato della Vucciria, dove abbiamo assaggiato il ‘’musso’’, strano ma buono, condito con limone e pepe, e da lì siamo andati in una piccola bella casa privata in un palazzina storica a due passi dal mercato. Qui, in un contesto amichevole, pulito ed accogliente, in compagnia di altre sei persone che avevano deciso di visitare Palermo e, come noi, avevano scelto di fare il tour a piedi, abbiamo gustato alcuni piatti tipici siciliani, tra cui gli ‘’impriulati’’ ed un fantastico gelato di scorzonera, entrambi mai sentiti o mangiati! Escursione consigliatissima.
Visitato a Aprile 2012

 

VISIT PALERMO; visiting palermo; TRIP TO PALERMO; see palermo